Manspeak


No Days Off Allowed by Travis Evans
October 30, 2006, 12:55 pm
Filed under: Devotions

Posted by Jonathan Oldacre

I loved Mike’s “mini-message” to the kids at church yesterday. When I wasn’t dying laughing I was deeply affected by our mission of passing the baton of the gospel to future generations. Isn’t it amazing that the gospel is so basic and easy to understand that children can grasp it?

Mike likened the gospel to a gigantic present, the likes of which nothing on earth can contain. It’s a treasure that’s more valuable than anything we can imagine. Do we see the gospel like that? Do we hold it tightly? Are you and I keeping the gospel central today? One of my heroes, C.J. Mahaney, says that every day we have a tendency to move away from this “main-thing” of the Christian faith. We think the gospel is basic, it’s meant for the non-Christian, and now that we’re in the kingdom it’s time to move on to the hard work of Christian discipleship.

For the next few weeks on Manly Devotions we’re going to take a look under the hood of our devotional lives. My car has been in the shop for a couple of weeks and I just got it back, so sorry, I’ve got “cars” on the brain. What was the problem with my car? A faulty engine control computer. The cost? You guessed it: ten billion dollars! What does the engine control computer do? Everything. It is the brain and central computer of my tricked out 1992 Acura Integra. It makes the car go. Without it working properly the car just sits there trying to start when I turn the key, but nothing happens. Now before I tempt you to jealousy with my gold package, custom antenna, and tape deck, just know that the odometer is sitting at over 200,000 miles and the car has definitely seen better days! Guys if your devotional life is like a car that won’t start or it’s not running too well right now…maybe we need to look under the hood and check out the engine control computer for your times with God: the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Without daily application of the gospel, you will lack the joy you so desperately need to glorify God. Christian discipleship will flounder, and you’ll likely be discouraged by your sin as you try to fight it without first being nourished by grace at the foot of the cross. Are you reminding yourself daily that: 1) God made us in His image for His glory, 2) We’ve sinned against him and because of this we deserve death and eternal punishment in a real place called hell, 3) BUT, In His great mercy God sent His Only Son, Jesus Christ, to live the perfect life you and I were supposed to have lived and to pay the penalty we deserve by dying on the cross for our many sins! Isn’t that good news?

Let me encourage you. If you’ve not kept this message central, you can tighten your grip by preaching the gospel to yourself today! Preach forgiveness of any and all sins because of the blood of Christ! Preach justification! Tell your soul, “Soul, because of Christ’s death for you, God sees you just as if you’ve never sinned AND just as if you’ve always perfectly obeyed!” Preach to yourself that there is no wrath left for you today because Jesus drank the cup of God’s wrath dry! Doesn’t joy and thanksgiving well up in your heart when you preach the good news to yourself? Why not do that every day! Why not start today?
Men, there is great joy and grace and strength to be had through the gospel of Jesus Christ. Let’s preach it to ourselves today!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You forgot about the gold rims and “fin” that I used to have on the Acura. I’m sorry you missed out on those days.

Thanks for the great Gospel-reminder post. 🙂

Comment by Melanie

Ya know I actualy experienced encouragement as I read your post Jonathan. My soul was lifted up and I took heart. I truly sensed confidence and joy rise up as I reflected on those truths. How soon we forget. How powerful the reminder. Becuase of the blood of Christ I have forgiveness. It is just as though I never sinned, and just as though I always obeyed. That’s how God views those that are clothed in the righteousness of Christ. Sola Gratia baby!

Comment by Travis

Ya know I actualy experienced encouragement as I read your post Jonathan. My soul was lifted up and I took heart. I truly sensed confidence and joy rise up as I reflected on those truths. How soon we forget. How powerful the reminder. Because of the blood of Christ I have forgiveness. It is just as though I never sinned, and just as though I always obeyed. That’s how God views those that are clothed in the righteousness of Christ. Sola Gratia baby! Don’t go anywhere just let that sink in.

Comment by Travis

Just found this blog…looks great.

Thanks for the gospel centered encouragement.

Comment by Ricky Alcantar




Leave a Reply

