Manspeak


God and Creation by Travis Evans
October 31, 2006, 9:23 am
Filed under: Humor

This past weekend I drove to Nashville, TN to attend a friend’s wedding. The drive from Knoxville, TN to Nashville takes you across the Cumberland Plateau. As I was passing across the plateau, I got to enjoy one of the most beautiful and clear revelations of God; the autumn leaves. I was struck once again at how beautiful creation is! Psalm 19:1 – 2 says, “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork. Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge.” I was sitting around a campfire a few weeks ago at a campsite. It was starting to rain and the downpour started rustling the leaves surrounding us. An older gentleman leaned over to me and said, “Do you hear that?” I, being such a quick thinker asked, “Hear what?” The man said, “He’s speaking to you.” My very God-centered answer came, “Who’s speaking to me?” “God,” the man said. In my internal monologue, my immediate, self-righteous and spiritual-elitist response was, “Oh, that’s a cute thing to say, dude. I mean that’s true, but dude…Duh. Who does this guy think he is, some kind of a self-exalted sage of the creation order, put here to interpret for everyone the unique ways in which God is revealing himself to us moment by moment through this world? Get a life, buddy. Look, I’m Reformed. I read my bible, I know that stuff, geez, go waste your petty little ‘theological’ insights on some kid or something.” Of course the Spirit of God inside me immediately convicted me of my sin and I was able, by the grace of God, to repent of my pride, but this moment of seemingly “simple” insight came flooding back as I was driving this past weekend. The “petty” little observation the man made finally clicked! As I drove I was awestruck at the beauty of the trees and the fields. The bright reds, oranges, and yellows, contrasted by the blue sky and evergreens speckled through out were, in a sense, the speech of God saying, “Look, Kevin, I am an awesome God. I created all of these things, and I made them beautiful and a delight to look at because I am beautiful and delightful and good.” I was freshly reminded of how good God is. I was moved to recount all of the amazing gifts God has given me in life, even above and beyond salvation! (As if that weren’t amazing enough!) I mean, God is really, really, good! My pastor, Bill Kittrell, has spoken about the goodness of God revealed in creation. Think about this: God didn’t have to make food that would taste good. He didn’t have to make birds that sing beautiful songs. He didn’t have to make beautiful colors to saturate His creation, but he did. He didn’t have to make gorgeous sunsets, moonlit oceanscapes, or friendly and faithful pets like dogs, but He did. (An extremely important side note: You may have wondered why I didn’t mention cats when talking about God’s goodness. There is a very important theological reason for this. And that reason is that before Adam and Eve sinned, cats did not exist. God created cats after the fall. They are clearly part of the curse! So, when you see a cat, let them be a reminder of the hatred that God has for human sin. He hated our sin so bad that He had to demonstrate that by making such proud, worthless creatures to torment man until God finishes applying redemption to the whole creation order. This is an extremely important theological point to me. I WILL DIE ON THIS MOUNTAIN! I hate sin and I hate cats. I propose a man law: Men who love cats shouldn’t be able to have a job, vote, marry, or speak! ) In addition, God gave us His word in the Bible and we learn that He didn’t have to send a Savior to deliver us from the wrath we deserved for our rebellion, but He did! So, I would encourage you to take a few minutes during this time of year to enjoy the amazing revelation of God all around us and then move to contemplate the goodness and kindness that God has shown you. End by turning to God’s word and be reminded of the ultimate revelation of God’s goodness: Jesus Christ; His life, death, and resurrection! Then, go kill a cat! Peace.

Kevin

crazy_cat.gif
This pleases me.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can not tell you how many times I have stepped out my back door and herd a dove coo just after I closed the door. I can remember many times smelling a sweet aroma of something in the air as I walked around my yard, and couldn’t quite place it. I have always been taken aback by God’s creation. Even before I could say I was saved. It has never been something I have taken lightly. I guess that goes hand in hand with me being outside so much.

About the cats,…I couldn’t agree more. I want to shout from my rooftop,…AMEN BROTHER, amen!!!

Comment by Fritz

Cats are nasty!

Comment by Chris Melander

Amen.

Comment by Slayer

I just want to say that one time I killed a cat. It came back to life thanked me for killing it, and then vanished again into the nether.

Comment by joshcan

Hilarious and moving, Josh. One time I starved a cat for two weeks and it brought me a love offering of mole guts, and then disappeared. True! Everyone tell me your amazing cat hatred stories. I love to hear them!

Comment by Kevin Shipp

Oh, and a suggestion…More Paragraphs!

Comment by joshcan

I had a kitten named Tigger when I was three or four. I did many things to the little booger. They are as follows: Hang it from the porch by its collar, slam it into the fridge, and(my personal favorite) shove it into a “Big Boy Resturants” piggy bank where it stayed for three hours. The little guy ran away… can’t imagine why.

Comment by Boomer




Leave a Reply

