Manspeak


The G.U.N. Award by Travis Evans
November 2, 2006, 11:14 am
Filed under: Culture

Posted by Todd Moles

Guys need…meat, potatoes, water, good boots, sleep, air, sense of direction (mine happens to be counter-directive–meaning I must do the opposite of what I feel to get where I need to go), dirty hands, a sore back, a war, a leader, family, church, leadership, brothers, humility, love, a wife (unless you have…the “gift”), understanding, the Bible, God, a savior. Guys need a lot of things, and this list is as small as a hair on a frog’s back.

The G.U.N. Award is to highlight Guys Understanding Need. Our single greatest need as men is to understand our need for Jesus. He drank the foaming, well-stirred, boiling cup of Gods wrath for the church, and we receive his perfect obedience as a resume for receiving heaven’s joys. If you understand this you have need for little else, and care for little else. Our generation (meaning anyone still breathing) needs these men. Our culture is full of wimpy men looking for their studliness in the beauty of the woman next to them. They cherish the status of possessions, the power that controls. They regress into the lazy, loveless, self-centered fathering that dominates our children’s hope to be a G.U.N. God, you are our only hope.

There are only two qualifications for this award:

1. This guy needs to have an understanding of his need for God and His redemption provided from God in The Christ.

2. This guy needs to see the needs of others and seek to serve them in meeting those needs (A.K.A. love)

For the Month of November I want to give the G.U.N. to my Daddy-o. I have seen my Dad be weak with me about the sin in his character and in marriage. He also tells me how he has come up short in raising me and my brother, but his joy is in grateful credit to God’s grace for saving his children. I personally experience great love from my dad on a daily basis. He calls me on the phone just to say “Son, I’m just calling to tell ya I love ya, and see what I can do for ya.” He leads me to do the right thing and be a man. I think my Dad is pretty amazing, and that is mainly in his sense of weakness for which I am grateful. “But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” -2 Corinthians 12:9. Thanks Daddy-o I love ya very much.

John Calvin said, “Genuine humility and self-abasement should be empty of all opinion of our own virtue and shorn of all assurance of our own righteousness, in fact, broken and crushed by the awareness of our own utter poverty.”

Also, The Man Jerry Bridges says “Nothing produces humility in a Christian as much as an abiding sense of our own sinfulness.”

-DocMoles

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

G.U.N.,…awesome!! I would love to increase my arsenal. I have been ‘wrestling’ with God over this very issue of self sacrifice for the people in my life. Thanks for the encouragement!

I have much more to say, but am having trouble forming it into words to put here.

Fritz

Comment by Fritz




Leave a Reply

