Manspeak


Required Reading for Growth in Evangelism by Travis Evans
November 25, 2006, 11:41 am
Filed under: Evangelism

by Travis Maples 

1)      Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God by J.I. Packer – because it’s by J.I. Packer and because I have seldom felt more encouraged and full of faith to evangelize than after I have been reminded of what both my role and what the role of the Holy Spirit is in evangelism.  It frees you from the burden you were never meant to carry, namely changing men’s hearts and saving their souls.

 

2)      Tell the Truth by Will Metzger —though it might not be as easy of a read as the others, it is needed in our day since there have been so many attempts to blunt or smooth over the rough edges our message.  People need to hear, as Metzger says, the “bite of their condition”.  He urges the sharing of the whole gospel to the whole person. 

3)      Speaking of Jesus by Mack Styles – because he brings decades of experience to the table.  His book is packed with personal stories of what evangelism looks like in everyday life and, after all, that’s where you and I are.  It’s essential to get a firm foundation in the theology that under girds action (which are what the first two are good for).  But once we learn the foundational truths, it’s so helpful to hear about the actual down and dirty, nitty-gritty, messy application.  He helps us learn how to turn conversations to Jesus.

4)      Questioning Evangelism by Randy Newman – why?  Because, though I haven’t read but a quarter of it, I know we don’t put fluff in our book store at church and if that doesn’t suffice, my pastor recommends it!

Also, here are Mark Dever’s and CJ Mahaney’s recommended reading lists for evangelism.

Mark Dever

1)      Tell the Truth by Will Metzger

2)      Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God by J.I. Packer

3)      Speaking of Jesus by Mack Styles

CJ Mahaney

1)      Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God by J.I. Packer

2)      The Gagging of God by D.A. Carson

3)      Gospel and
Mission in the Writings of Paul
by P.T. Obrien

Has anyone else read these books?  If so, I would like to hear what you think about them.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So, I just read at monergism.com that John Piper’s dad’s name was Bill. That’s a really really strong name…Bill Piper. Really manly. I mean, probably the most manly name ever, given that a man named that fathered one of the greatest theologians of our time. Certainly worthy of mentioning on manspeak. Isn’t there someone at CCK named that? He’s probably really manly, too, in a tight pants, used-to-be-a-theatre-major-but-still-really-artsy way. He must be awesome. And hilarious.

Comment by George Glass

Trav, I love the recommendations……and it has inspired me further to READ them. I have a few of those but wow, there is a HUGE difference between having a book and actually reading it. Keep up the good work bro!

Comment by D. Kotynski

Hey I finally got one of my brothers finnaly hittin up the site. What are you doing with your life?!

Comment by Travis

I’ve read all of them except “The Gagging of God” by Carson. Packer’s is probably the best. I would have to say that the book that motivated me more than any other is Spurgeon’s “The Soul Winner”. Along with the most practical book on evangelism, “The Way of the Master”, would have to be two I would add to your list.

Have you ever read “The Gospel Blimp”? Dever recommends it. It’s more of a short story, but I found it hilarious. It’s a good reminder that there is no substitute in all our methods for Christians simply going out and sharing the gospel with those around them. Thanks for being an example of this Travis.

Comment by bigplew




Leave a Reply

