Manspeak


Grace and Dependence by Travis Evans
December 4, 2006, 12:21 pm
Filed under: Devotions

images.jpeg

By Jonathan Oldacre

“Ok, I got up on time, got my Bible, got my journal, got my pen, roommates are being quiet for once (heh-heh, I’m always up before those losers!), can’t think of any sins I need to confess, feeling pretty encouraged, I have exactly 30 minutes…yes, God is definitely going to meet with me this morning!”

Have you ever thought like this? If so, you’re not alone! I think many of us can often approach God in the mornings with a big basket full of our performance and then expect him to dish out grace based on that performance. Is that right? Can we obligate God?

If we really want to play the “x amount of things I do right = x amount of grace I get” game, let’s remember one very important detail: God is holy, and He requires perfect sinless obedience in order to dispense rewards of grace. Now that raises the bar a little! I’m sure we’ve all read in Romans 3 that “None is righteous, no, not one; no one understands; no one seeks for God. All have turned aside; together they have become worthless; no one does good, not even one,” but do we apply this to our devotional life? Are you aware that any grace you receive in your time with God is a blood bought gift you didn’t merit?

Because of Jesus’ perfect righteousness and death on the cross in your place, there is a way for God to reward you for what you haven’t done this morning! For all those who trust in Christ, God looks to the perfect merit of His Son in order to determine how much grace He will dispense. The good news: CHRIST IS PERFECT IN HOLINESS AND RIGHTEOUSNESS AND MERIT! How much grace does that merit for you this morning? RICHES: BAGS AND BAGS OF LAVISH UNENDING GRACE!

“So what is God looking for in my time with Him?”

I beleive God is looking for two things:

1. He looks to see if you’re trusting in the Substitute He’s provided; Jesus Christ. God blesses you on the basis of Christ’s merit alone. About the Savior, God says “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased” (Matthew 3:17). Due to the gracious initiative of God that united you to Christ through His death on the cross, God sees you clothed in the very righteousness of the One with whom He is “well pleased.” Based on that, do you think God wants to bless your time with Him? OF COURSE HE DOES!

2. Based on the grace God has already given in Christ, He is also looking for humble dependence

“But this is the one to whom I will look:
he who is humble and contrite in spirit
and trembles at my word.” (Isaiah 66:2)

Do you want to draw the gaze of God this morning? Then humble yourself and tremble at His Word. He’s looking for need, not merit, because Christ already has the merit covered. The Lord is just looking to pour out mercy this morning, and the question is, ‘Will you humble yourself and receive it?’

Men, let’s humble ourselves, let’s tremble at His Word, let’s depend on Christ alone for our righteous standing before God, and let’s come thirsty all the days of our life to the One who loves to pour out grace!

Have a great week enjoying God!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Excellent post, JO! Thanks for the encouragement.

Comment by Cap Stewart

Thanks for your insight into an often unnoticed (and unrepented for) performance mindset in my communion with God.

I have only one question – and this is to all the MANSPEAK readers: Is it ok for a man to ever use “heh-heh”?

Comment by walterp

That was supposed to be like a self-congratulatory/sinister “heh-heh.” Notice the h”EH” pronounced “h-eh” not “h-eeeee.” Now if I had put “hee-hee” that would be grounds for throwing me under the bus. Perhaps you should double check spelling next time and study the English language more. That might save you from a lot of critical judgments. BOOYAH! JO

Comment by Jonathan Oldacre

Thoughts?

Comment by Squatty

I think it is ok until someone proposes a better way to communitcate sinister laughter in text form.

But really, Jonathan, thanks for the post. That is something that I can tend to forget when I am actually being consistent and disciplined, (Which isn’t nearly as often as it should be.)

Comment by psteele




Leave a Reply

