Manspeak


Chili Dogs by Travis Evans
January 25, 2007, 1:35 pm
Filed under: Man Cookin'

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 can of chili
  • 1 package of hot dogs
  • 1 package of hot dog buns
  • 1 package of shredded cheddar cheese (not the fancy shredded, men don’t cook with the word fancy)

PREPARATION:

Heat the chili in a pot. Cook the hot dogs. Once cooked, place the hot dogs in the buns. Cover the hot dogs with chili and cheese.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s a little too complex for me.

Comment by Jonathan Oldacre

c’mon guys!!! Please don’t tell me that you can’t be a little more creative.

What you need is some scotch or beer (not a creamy stoudt). Cover your elk or deer steak.

then add some onion, garlic, & lemon pepper.

OOOORRR,

some thyme, rosemary, sage, & a little ginger.

You could also try things like basil, aregano, etc. I have a decent spice rack.

Let it sit in the fridge for a coulpe of hours and then throw it on your grill. I always add some wood to the coals to smoke it just a bit.

NOBODY has EVER complained about my cooking.

Although, I will say, I have tried the above recipe (chili dogs) before and give it a big thumbs up.

Comment by Fritz

“I have a decent spice rack”. Fritz, sometimes you scare me.

Also, where do you get elk? Where do you live?

Comment by bigplew

I live between kansas and So. Dak.

I am not fortunate enough to be near a huntable elk herd. However, I have been fortunate enough to have people give me some elk (steak & burger)!!!!

I am not an accomplished hunter, but my friends are đŸ˜‰ . Pheasnt is another thing that is way excellent on my grill.

Comment by Fritz

I don’t think that any of that is available in large quantities in Knoxville. Here we have beef, pork and chicken. It took Plop and I quite a while to find, as well as costing us an arm and a leg ($13/lb) to get some duck to cook for some guests last month.

I can’t imagine what we would have to go through to get elk. Or phesant for that matter.

Comment by psteele

What you gotta go through???? You hunt it yourself.

You can almost always find someone that would be willing to give you some of their deer. I have friends that always seem to give me some. I have yet to take my own deer, but the pheasant is my own.

I can find all sorts of commercial game (elk, buffalo, etc.)in grocery stores here. You should be able to find it too. It will cost more, but the flavor is wonderful.

Comment by Fritz

‘I am not an accomplished hunter, but my friends are’

Very interesting advice to Paul there Fritz,…since you didn’t hunt for your elk!!!

JO

Comment by Jonathan Oldacre

Men eat chili out of the can and the dogs cold out of the package, but it’s ok if you put them in the bun.

Don’t know about the cheese – The Beast doesn’t eat it.

Comment by hairybeast

any one up for an elk hunting expedition?

Comment by Nathan Simmons

anyone up for an elk hunting expedition?

Comment by Nathan Simmons

I’ll go, Nathan!! I got a buddy who is a guide in Idaho. Archery or Rifle?

Oh, and J.O., Sometimes it’s not WHAT you know, but WHO you know.

Comment by Fritz

i prefer my bare hands

Comment by Nathan Simmons

bare MANLY hands

Comment by Chris Melander

kansas deer hunting

California duck hunting. A network directory of California duck hunting guides, outfitters, hunting real estate, land leases, hunting dogs.

Trackback by kansas deer hunting




Leave a Reply

