Manspeak


Mohler on reading… by bigplew
January 26, 2007, 6:49 pm
Filed under: Books, Featured Resource

by Mike Plewniak

Since we are doing a book study on Thomas Watson’s “The Godly Man’s Picture”, I thought it would be a good week to review why we are doing this. So, here is a quote from Al Mohler on reading…

Reading is an important Christian discipline. Further, growth as a Christian disciple is closely tied to the reading of the Bible, as well as worthy Christian books. This is why the Christian church has championed the cause of literacy. It is why the Reformers fought for the translation of the Scriptures into vernacular languages.
A loss of literacy and respect for the book amounts to grave danger for the Christian church. The transmission of Christian truth has been closely tied to scrolls, codices, and books throughout the history of the Church — a legacy inherited from the Jews, who often protected the sacred scrolls with their lives.

The electronic media have their places and uses, and I am thankful for the accessibility of so much worthy and important information through digital means. Nevertheless, the electronic screen is not the venue for lengthy, thoughtful, serious reading. The vehicle for serious reading is the book, and the Christian should be a serious reader.

Do our own young people read books? Do they know the pleasures of the solitary reading of a life-changing page? Have they ever lost themselves in a story, framed by their own imaginations rather than by digital images? Have they ever marked up a page, urgently engaged in a debate with the author? Can they even think of a book that has changed the way they see the world . . . or the Christian faith? If not, why not?

Along with this, I’d love to hear what your favorite book is or if there are any books that have had a significant impact on your life.

(HT: Justin Taylor)

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OK, let’s see,…

John Eldridge, “Wild” & “Desire”

Ted Nugent, “God, Guns, & Rock & Roll”
Do I get banned from here for the afore mentioned???

Just ordered Terry Grosz, “Wildlife Wars”

I have also read the books “For Men Only” & “For Women Only”. I want to be ‘well rounded’.

I have read several books by Dobson. Too many others to fully remember. I hope to get books by John Geirach this year. I also want to get a couple of books about Fred Bear. I love to read. It is something that I do every night before going to bed.

My Bible is read regularly.

God gave us this world and everything in it. He gave us everything as food to eat and called it good.

God told Peter to rise, kill, and eat.

Esau was a hunter.

Comment by Fritz

glad you posted that, I saw it and thought it was good as well

JO

Comment by Jonathan Oldacre

I just finished “Finding The Will of God: A Pagan Notion?” by Bruce Waltke. It was excellent and I think very appropriate especially for younger crowds that typically have large life decisions looming over their heads.
He does a great job addressing an issue that is grossly misconstrued among too many Christians today, mostly, because they never thought to question the theology behind such a term. They assume that it’s just the way it works. In fact alot of my own thinking was adjusted as a result of reading it. Truth be told I was talking about God’s will with my pastor in relation to a particular desire in my heart and he told me to read this book and I’m glad I did.
Bruce Waltke writes:

“When I hear Christians talking about the will of God, they often use phrases such as ‘If only I could find God’s will’ as though He is keeping it hidden from them, or ‘I’m praying that I’ll discover His will for my life,’ because they apparently believe the Lord doesn’t want them to find it, or that He wants to make it as hard as possible for them to find so they will prove their worth.”

God’s will is not elusive. It’s not a mystical thing that we have to divine. He has made his will known to us. He wants us to love Him and our neighbor with all of hearts, minds, soul and strength in such a way that He glorified and we are made more like Christ.
Rather than “finding God’s will” we ought to be “following God’s guidance”. Dr. Waltke sets forth the sequence for following God’s guidance as follows: First He has given us His word, Second He has given us the desires that are resident in our hearts(which are obviously shaped and altered as we grow in knowing what pleases him from his word), Third He has given us the wise counsel that we receive from godly friends and pastors, Fourth we are called to be aware of God’s providence, that though with the first three we have responsibility there are some things that we just can’t control, and that will affect how you make a particular decision. Last God has given us a brain with the ability to make sound judgments, and decisions.
Just so you know there is a reason that they are in a particular order.

Comment by tmaples

Interesting quote Mike. The weekend of Walt and Kim’s wedding one of the Bridesmaids husbands stayed with me and he happens to be Southern Seminary student. He told me that to say Mohler is an avid reader is an understatment. The man reads so much and so quickly that its books per day instead of per week or month. He has two library carts always outside of his study. One for current books he is reading and the other for his up and coming reads. Needless to say the man backs up what he says. I think it’s safe to say that we don’t all have Mr. Mohler’s gift of reading but could learn from the discipline he has in using what he has been given.

Comment by RHughes

“Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis.

Comment by CountryGoalie

This is my first to comment on your blog. My wife showed it to me after seeing the link on girl talk. I am also a southern grad, athough I am still learning the discipline of reading. I know, Southern should have beaten that into me. I am also amazed at Mohler’s ability to read and remember what he reads. I would say that he has forgotten more than I have read, but he doesn’t forget anything. But if I were to choose one book that I love…its The Pilgram’s Progress. Hows that for irony, I couldn’t remember the name of it.

Anyway, I had to tell you how much I have enjoyed reading your blog and to show you my own reading deficiency.

Also — thanks for the above comment on the will of God book. I have been struggling with a lot of things in my life lately and I think something like that might help. I am going to look for it now.

Comment by cgresham




Leave a Reply

