Manspeak


Surviving college… by bigplew
February 14, 2007, 12:46 pm
Filed under: Culture

by Mike Plewniak

This is a quote from Justin Taylor, who is quoting Thabiti Anyabwile from his article How Not To Lose Your Faith in College.

“Thabiti Anyabwile on How Not to Lose Your Faith in College:

What I’ve found in these counseling situations is that typically the prospective college student has no definite plan for surviving college as a Christian. They’ve very often been raised in the thick, semi-transparent plastic Christian bubble, and the challenges of toxin-laced, free oxygen-based life is new, alluring, and usually more than the perky teenager is bargaining for.

Thabiti offers some excellent counsel, organized under the following exhortations: (1) find and join a good church; (2) choose your friends with biblical criteria in view; (3) at all costs, remain sexually pure; (4) study; (5) call home; (6) remember the counsel of God.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice quote Mike. I agree completely with Mr. Thabiti. In hindsight during my freshman year I don’t remember a specific plan regarding my faith but I do remember telling myself I needed a good campus ministry/church to belong to. Everything seemed to fall somewhat into place after I discovered VFC and Cornerstone church shortly thereafter.

My encouragement to those in college reading this blog is no matter how much or little you are involved in VFC/Cornerstone church, throw yourself into it. I only wish I had gotten more involved in my early college years….

Comment by Ryan Hughes

Hey guys. Someone of you know me, some don’t…I’m originally from Knoxville, and my family has been richly blessed by the ministry of CCK and VVC. I now live in DC and can say that Thabiti is simply a jewel. Before he moved on from CapBap to become the senior pastor at a different church, he sat down with Mark Dever and our congregation to share the incredible story of how God called him from submission to Allah to faith in Jesus Christ. In particular, I think it’s rather pertinent what he says about being attractive to Islam because the Muslims he met in college were the first strong male role models he had met. Thanks for all y’all do to mentor the young men in your own local church. If you’re interested in hearing Thabiti’s story, you can check it out at http://www.chbcaudio.org/2006/06/28/from-mecca-to-calvary/

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

