Manspeak


Put up your dukes by Kevin Shipp
February 27, 2007, 10:51 am
Filed under: Humor

I have been punched in the face. Seriously. I have been in several fights and skirmishes in my day. Most of these brawls were with my older brother when we were growing up. My fights with my brother usually looked like this:

Step 1: I did something stupid or annoying, like make tons of loud shrills and noises when him and his buddies would be hanging out.

Step 2: He warned me to stop. Usually employing several impassioned sentences saturated with profanity.

Step 3: I continued, nay, intensified my annoyance.

Step 4: He chased me.

Step 5: He caught me, tackled me and gave me some good hits or kicks with the same profanity saturated language

or…

Step 5: I out ran him and locked myself in the bathroom, countering his profanity with my own radical curse-word combos (I was very creative with profanity as a kid) and screamed for my mom.

One time I fought with my brother and his friend Jason was over at our house. They had been making fun of me all day. In my anger and injured pride, I jumped at my brother, knocking him to the ground. Then, I grabbed my ankle and did a knee drop on his head! He jumped up and ran off crying and yelling, “Dude, you dented in my head!” We never physically fought again. (unless you count me slapping his whiskey glass last November.)

However, I have had my share of extra-familial fights. When I was in 6th grade I had a buddy named Wesley. I was fat. I was being picked on all the time for being fat and dorky. One day at lunch time Wesley came up and said something to me completely unrelated to a fat joke and not at all in a hostile manner, but I proceeded to take out all of my fat-nerdy-kid anger on him. I kicked him in the stomach multiple times and then started crying. I left the cafeteria a broken man. Since then, I have never hit another person in anger. (not that I haven’t wanted to or thought about it!)

Another time, I was at a football game and me and some buddies dressed up like nerds and were goofing off in the student section. This dude, thinking he would join in on the goofing/nerd play acting, came up and starting making nerd jokes. We thought it was funny until he punched me in the face and gave my friend John a wedgie. I was shocked. I just acted like a nerd and rolled my sleeves up and started doing some kind of martial arts stance. A cop came and made him leave.

What is it in men that makes us prone to fight? Is it all bad? Is it only evidence of our sinful nature that we get a thrill out of fighting and wrestling other men? Why do we like war movies and fight movies (Rambo, Saving Private Ryan, Bloodsport, etc.)? Do you guys have any funny/embarrassing fight stories? Have you ever had your butt whooped? Can anyone whoop Jake Simmons?

Kevin

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

God created us in HIS image. What did God give Adam & Eve in the garden? He gave them animal skins to cover themselves. Did he just produce them like he had the rest of the universe? He certainly could have, but, I don’t think so.

When was Samson at his most dangerous? When the Holy Spirit filled him. Otherwise he was just another man. Every time Samson did some amazing feat of strength or daring, it was with the Holy Spirit’s aid.

What did he tell Petr? Arise, kill, and eat.

There are many other examples of things just like this. These are not acts of a pacifist. They are not blind anger or violence either. The Bible tells us about God’s wrath. Why would any man not have some fire in his belly to help him overcome the things in life that dare to oppose us?

The problem is not the anger or use of it, it is the WAY it is used. Their is such a thing as righteous anger. I have never been in a fight in my life, but don’t think for one minute that I will not defend myself, my family, and my friends, be it in a discussion, or some other type of altercation.

Besides,…what guy doesn’t want to be a hero to somebody?

Comment by Fritz

I could whoop Jake Simmons any day of the week…

if he was duct taped to a very strong metal pole, rooted deep underground.

Comment by jkelfer

I disagree with Fritz. Sure, men seem to be the more physical and active of God’s created humans, and I do believe that God has created us in diversity. I am in no way promoting femininity above masculinity. Additionally, I would consider myself to be on the conservative side of the spectrum. However, I would like to address the examples Fritz uses, because I believe they have not been used appropriately. Allow me to clarify what I mean:
1. The animal skins were placed on Adam and Eve in response to the original sin. The wages of sin is death (Romans 6:23) and the first physical deaths should have been the man and his wife, but it was an animal–a shadow of the reality that God would someday kill a substitute to redeem sinners. Adam and Eve were clothed in animal skins, with God killing the animal (Genesis 3:21), because bloodshed was required to atone for their sin.
2. Yes, Samson’s anger could be deemed righteous because God blessed the one who had been wronged(Judges 14:19). God gave miraculous power to Samson for destruction, but the purpose was also to show the fearful Israelites (v. 11) that He was with them, despite their lack of trust. Thus, God filled Samson with power for the purposes of displaying His own glory, not so that Samson could somehow fulfill his masculinity. This is proven later on in Judges 16 by the observation that Samson played a lying game and gave away his manhood, a little here, a little there (16:7).
3. Where do you read that Jesus told Peter to arise, kill and eat? I recall from the events that took place on the night Jesus was betrayed at Gethsemane that Peter drew his sword and struck a man, cutting off his ear (Mt. 26:51; Mark 14:47; Luke 22:38; John 18:10). Jesus’ response was the following (according to Matthew in 26:52): “Put your sword back into its place; for all those who take up the sword shall perish by the sword.”
There is such a thing as righteous anger, yes (Galatians 4:26), and even an appropriate time for hate (Ecc. 3:8). What matters is the heart and attitude behind the anger (Mark 7:5-8). We can conclude that fighting as a response to being hurt or because someone else “started it” are primairly sinful in nature. According to 1 Corinthians 10:31, we are to do ALL to the glory of God, and that includes physical fighting.

To answer the questions posed at the end of the blog, I would agree that anger manifested in actions such as physical harm is evidence of sinful nature. I believe that when God created man in the garden, He created man with a fierce spirit to reflect that certain characteristic of God (wrath, anyone?). But because of the effects of the Fall (Genesis 3), mankind has taken the characteristic that was meant for good and made it evil. Praise Jehovah that there is redemption from such things, but that does not mean we will not face the temptation to sin out of anger.

I know I am a girl reading and then posting on a predominately male blog, but know that I am your sister in Christ and deeply desire to see the Scriptures understood accurately. Thank you for the space.

Comment by Katey

This cracks me up… I just watched all this brother-rivalry unfold again this afternoon when my big (albeit a bit younger) brother showed up… Instantly there was this friendly friction between him and my little brother. Brawls were continually breaking out. The little one throws a snowball, and then gets tackled in the snow and receives a good facial scrubbing. The little one makes a snide provocative comment, and ends up flat on the floor. The little one takes a swing with his fist and winds up pinned down and getting whalloped good and hard. The weird thing is, that I just DON’T get is they’re giggling the whole time. Like it’s fun to get hurt.

I’m sorry, but that’s just NOT appealing. 🙂

Comment by BrittLeigh

What is HAPPENING!?!? The ladies are posting more comments than the DUDES!!! Thanks, Kevin…

Comment by TMT

In John Eldridge’s book Wild at Heart he quotes someone who says God is Fierce, Unfettered and Free. I always loved that It puts such an image in my mind. I think men are wild and sometimes being wild means getting hurt. My Men are wild cause thats how we are made there is no science to it. We are hunters. All men deep down have a desire to be ruff and tuff and every man acts it out differently. But we all have the same feeling inside to be Hunters, Fighters, Protectors and so on. I don’t care how calm or peaceful a man is we all have it inside us, it’s just what it takes to make it come out.

Comment by Mark

While reading these comments, the first thing that came to my mind was the fruit of the spirit, which goes across the board for both genders: “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control…and those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.”

What God hates is sin. I want to hate it, fight it, hunt it and destroy it.

On another note, Kevin, I was beaten up when I was in 4th grade by a 5th grader whose name, sadly, was Stash. He was from some foreign country I couldn’t pronounce as a kid. I made fun of him a lot, threw a snowball at his face, and his wrath was unleashed. In the end, he held my face in the snow until I couldn’t feel it anymore. I cried. That’s all I have to say about that.

Comment by bigplew

Katey,

The kill and eat passage that Fritz quoted was in a vision god gave to Peter in Acts 10 to get him to accept the invitation to share the gospel with Cornelius.

On another note, I want to see Plew, Dash, Harlen, Joey and Jon Chapman all try to take Jake at the same time. I think that would be about the funniest thing I have ever seen.

Comment by psteele

PSteele,

Thank you for your clarification. You inspired me to study Acts 10 within it’s context a little bit further, and I would have to say that I still do not completely agree with the application of men’s fierceness in the context of what is going on. Paul offers more insight to this event in Galatians 2. Apparently, Peter (or Cephas, as Paul refers to him) was guilty of sin by aligning himself with men he knew to be in error and also because of the harm and confusion he caused to his Gentile brethren by doing this. Peter, knowing the decision the Jerusalem Council had made (Acts 15:7-29), had been in Antioch for some time, eating with Gentiles. When Judaizers came, pretending to be sent by James, they lied, giving false claims of support from the apostles. Peter had already given up all Mosaic ceremony (our text…Acts 10:9-22) and James had at times held only to some of it (Acts 21:18-26). When Paul uses the Greek word for “withdraw” it refers to strategic military withdrawl. The verb’s form may imply that Peter’s withdrawl was gradual and deceptive. To eat with Judaizers and decline invitations to eat with Gentiles, which he had previously done, meant that Peter was affirming the very dietary restrictions he knew God had abolished (our text yet again…Acts 10:15) and thus striking a blow at the gospel of grace. Bringing this full-circle and back to manliness and God’s call for Peter to “get up, kill and eat” (Acts 10:13), God is refering to the fact that He ended the dietary restrictions (see Mark 7:19) with the coming of the New Covenant and the calling of the church.

Does any of this make sense? Please know that I am not trying to come across as prideful, but in a spirit of gentleness.

Comment by Katey

I agree with you katey. This verse certainly had more meaning than a call for Peter to “be a man” by going and killing something. the vision weas about changing Peter’s worldview. I think Fritz is wrong in his interpretations above, I just wanted to point you to the spot that that particular quote came from.

Comment by psteele

This is kinda funny by now, but gracias.

Comment by Katey

Jon Eldredge has some pretty funky theology. I’d be wary of that guy.

Comment by the sentinel

I ‘m 50. I was in so many fights when I was a kid, it was crazy. The first kid I beat up was Scott Welborn. He wanted to pick on a kid that was younger and smaller than he. I told him I’d fight him instead. I was younger, too, but I had been taught to stand up for the right. I was in first or second grade, Scott was one year ahead. I bloodied his mouth. After that, it was one fight after another. For months at a stretch, I was fought by Scott and one or two other low life types he could get to help every day at school. None of the teachers would do anything about it. It continued off and on for years. I always held my own, but it was unpleasant and it really helped me to understand the depravity of man. Those teachers and that school should have been sued. I think it was allowed to continue forever because it was a small community and my family had moved in from outside before I was born. Living there for decades was not sufficient to be considered a part of the community. Inbreeding was required, I guess.

But anyway, I believe God MADE men to be the fighters and aggressors. We are supposed to protect the women and kids, right? The Christian walk is a war. We fight with spiritual weapons, but we fight. And we ought to. How many times has false teaching come into our churches and no one will stand? We act like women.

Sure, that godly instinct to fight can be perverted and that is what we see in so much of society–BUT DON’T CEASE being WARROIRS.

Expecially these days. We need warriors that are willing to go out and die for Christ, for our families, and for the gospel.

In Christ,
Phil Perkins.

Comment by Phil Perkins




Leave a Reply

