Manspeak


Corrective Lenses by Jonathan Oldacre
April 15, 2007, 9:34 pm
Filed under: Devotions

by Jonathan Oldacre 

The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but a wise man listens to advice.” –Proverbs 12:15

I’ve been a Christian for a relatively short amount of time (6 years this week), but I always find it amazing that God uses His word so skillfully in addressing my heart. His word speaks as powerfully today as the day it was penned, and it always accomplishes the purpose for which it was sent.

Only recently have I begun to see how self-righteousness is leveraging itself in my life. Throughout a period of weeks, the Lord has been graciously highlighting this area of pride in my life, sadly I’ve had some difficulty seeing it, but God is using His Word and good friends to clear up my vision.  In multiple settings, from multiple individuals, and from those to whom I am the closest, all the advice pointed to the same sin: self-righteousness. I wish I started listening to advice sooner, but my way seemed more attractive, and I was a fool. I thought another area was really where I needed to be focusing on right now, but the Lord just kept putting people in my way…all saying the same thing…specific observations…patterns revealed…and yet I remained convinced that I was right! It’s amazing how our sins that are so glaringly obvious to others can blind us, dull our spiritual senses, and leave us feeling pretty good about ourselves while all the while they go about the devious business of trying to destroy us! Thankfully, years ago, God was gracious enough to place me in a healthy local church where I have faithful brothers who are courageous enough to confront my arrogance and pride. Through the gracious work of the Spirit in their correction what I once would have called a side issue in my life is becoming the target of my warfare against the flesh, and I’m looking forward to change! I’m so glad God doesn’t let us go our own way…I would rush to destruction every time apart from His grace!

 That’s one way God is working in my life right now…what about you?

What would your godly friend say about you? Would they have observations for you that would serve your soul’s satisfaction in God if you would only humble yourself and ask? Where have you ignored counsel? Where would you be in your walk with Christ this time next year if you listened to the counsel of the wise? 

If you are like me and you can lack wisdom in listening to the advice of godly friends, then thank God for His gracious promise in James 1:5…

 “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.”

That’s right, no reproach! When we forsake our folly and turn to Christ, we’re forgiven, cleansed, and ready to receive the wisdom that is ours for the asking! We don’t come to a God who punishes us for a while, then begrudgingly tosses us a scrap of wisdom. Instead we come to a gracious and loving Father who sent His Son to bear all of our sins on the cross so that we could be forgiven and cleansed and empowered to walk in a manner worthy of the gospel! God is a Redeemer!

 Let’s forsake foolishness and seek the counsel and correction of others today!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Jon- thank you! I know this is a “young man’s” blog but I am really encouraged by this! It’s hard to receive correction but it does yield fruit when applied. But most of all I just appreciated how you ended this with the gospel and vision of God’s character! That is what we need to hear and it’s the only way we will truly change. Otherwise, we are are just changing behaviour with hearts unchanged. I need His grace to change and it’s great to be reminded that I can ask God who gives freely! Man- I’m encouraged!

Comment by Trillia




Leave a Reply

