Manspeak


A Serious Thought (Seriously!) by Kevin Shipp
April 24, 2007, 11:19 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I know I am supposed to post silly, random things, but I thought I’d do something different this week.

I am an ungrateful person. Normally what my mind focuses on and what comes out of my mouth are what I don’t have, complaints, discontent, and “if only…” statements. What this reveals about my heart is that I believe I deserve certain things from God. WRONG!

What’s the truth?

I was in Charlotte, NC about a month ago and Joe Lechner was preaching on covetousness. He made the point that EVERYTHING that we experience that isn’t Hell is mercy from God. I don’t deserve the shirt I am wearing, the house I live in, the food I eat (as nasty as it can be), the friends I have, the pillow case on my pillow, my pillow, my bed, my room, my toothpaste, the church I am a part of, the fact that I can get a 2 for 1 deal on Degree deodorant at Wal-Mart right now, the ability to talk, walk, run, and the list goes on and on. I take all of these things for granted! God is not obligated in the slightest to give any of these things to the people He has created. Add to that the fact that all of us (as Gene Emerson put it at church this past Sunday) came into the world waving our fists in defiance at our Creator with our sin?! What mercy!!! God ran after us, grabbed us, set His love on us in Christ even when we were far off, dead in our sin! That gets me pretty pumped!

How can we cultivate change in our hearts? 3 Suggestions:

1. Review the Gospel as soon as you get up in the morning and throughout the day. I like going over 2 Corinthians 5:21.

2. Think through your life as a whole or go through the day’s activities and thank God specifically for everything that isn’t Hell in your life. (That means everything!) This should give you plenty to pray about! Something that has really served me lately is to spend a majority of my time in prayer just thanking God for different stuff. Sometimes I never move on to supplication. Usually after thanking God I start ascribing glory to Him and worshiping Him.

3. Bring Suggestion 2 back to the Gospel and realize that all you have, you have because of Christ! Meditate on verses like Romans 8:32. God has given us the most amazing gift in giving us His Son, Jesus Christ, and Christ is the source of all good gifts.

What about you?

To help us help each other see things to be thankful for; what are things that you tend to take for granted? What passages do you like to think about throughout the day to keep your eyes fixed on the cross of Christ? What about quotes about the Gospel that stir your thankfulness to God? Any other thoughts to add?

Kevin

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Contentment and thankfulness are two things I struggle with. I can be very worldly and material at times. I also tend to scrutinize even the good things I receive. “It would have been better if…” One verse that I think really serves in this instance is I Timothy 6:6 and also through verse 10.

Comment by JRam

I always find myself thinking…man what if I had this?? I always tend to think about myself.. I have been reading to Deuteronomy when Jesus forbids Moses to go into the promise land…MOSES a man who saw the back of God…because of others was not going to the promise land…but he already knowing that he deserves so much more, turn around and cautions israel to learn and fear God…because they do deserve much MUCH more! then to go into a land flowing with milk and honey… how much more we deserver wraith! Thank God for The Cross Daily! every hour of the day..more if need be…

Comment by Sagraves...

I dont know about the rest of you guys, but Josh’s comment was a bit confusing. I think this is what he was saying:

I always find myself thinking, “Man what if I had this??” I always tend to think about myself. I have been reading in Deuteronomy where the Lord forbids Moses from going into the promise land because of Israel’s transgression of the covenant. Moses, who had seen the back of God, knew that he deserved so much worse than losing land. So, he turned around and warned Israel, imploring them to fear God because they deserved much, much worse! How much more do we deserve wrath!? Thank God for The Cross Daily! every hour of the day!

Comment by Kevin Shipp

yeah thats what I was meaning…thanks Kev

Comment by Sagraves...

That’s so good Kevin. Even every seemingly small good in our lives, that is so often taken for granted, is the Lord’s direct grace and care for us. Here recently, the Lord has revealed how He is present and active in EVERYTHING. So many times He has blessed me with much better circumstances than I deserve. In other words, there are times throughout the day where I can see potentially bad things that could have happened in those instances, but the Lord is faithful to carry me. I don’t know if that all makes sense, but countless times during the day the Lord provides safety, relationships, food, rest, encouragement, and completely guides and leads His children into the completion of the work He started. I am a weak, unable child, but the Lord hears my cries and is faithful to rescue.

Comment by Varnell




Leave a Reply

