Manspeak


LESSONS LEARNED BY JUSTIN TAYLOR by walterp
May 23, 2007, 8:36 am
Filed under: Humor

By Walt Alexander

For those of you who do not know, Justin Taylor is perhaps the most prolific blogger out there. He posts 5 or 6 times a day, on very relevant theological matters. His blog address: theologica.blogspot.com.

However, yesterday, he posted some lessons learned. Check them out:

In high school, a friend and I were invited to our local Lions Club to talk about the effect of drugs and alcohol on teens. I came home that day from school, ate a pepperoni pizza from Dominos with another friend, and proceeded to play three intense one-on-one basketball games with him. Not the best thing for one’s stomach. I showered quickly and went to the Lions Club meeting at a local restaurant. I was so thirsty from the salty pizza and the b-ball games that I downed a number of glasses of Orange Shasta fountain pop. As we were waiting for our meal, an old Lions member kept doing something I found amusing, and all of a sudden—in the middle of a big swig of Orange Shasta—I began to laugh uncontrollably. Unfortunately, everything came back up onto my plate (including a couple of pepperonis!) It was a strange and frightening mixture of laughter and vomit. One of the old guys wanted to know if he should call 911. Mortified, I managed to slip off to the restroom to clean the Shasta-pepperoni concoction off of my shirt before going home. My dad (the president of the Lions) came into the bathroom and made the helpful observation that the guys all thought I’d made a big splash! (To this day he doesn’t tire of that joke.)

In college I had to do a group project for a senior capstone class on environmental science. (One of my partners in the project was this guy.) Two factors were at work going into our class presentation: (1) we clearly weren’t prepared; (2) our third partner was a bit odd. Our partner’s presentation was so long and rambling that it only increased my nervousness. And I used to have a very bad habit of laughing uncontrollably when I was nervous (which included one episode so bad that I won’t even recount it here). So when it was my turn to speak, I started to make a bit of a joke, and out of my mouth yelped a feminine-sounding giggle. And once I started, I couldn’t stop. I was unable to give the presentation because every time I opened my mouth I just laughed harder. (Recall that this isn’t the third grade–it’s a senior college class). I got a D on my paper–which was merciful.

The entire post is here.

Hope you guys have a wonderful day!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Are you still alive, Walt?

Comment by kevin shipp

Wow Warwick, I bet you really stop by this blog often due to your “very relevant to the post” comment. You wouldn’t just be trying to rope us all into “working from home” would you? Of course not.

Comment by Jonathan Oldacre




Leave a Reply

