Manspeak


C.S. LEWIS ON ATTENDING CHURCH by walterp
June 9, 2007, 9:37 pm
Filed under: Devotions

I recently stumbled upon this quote of C.S. Lewis that I have always loved. He is talking about his initial thoughts of music in church.

I disliked very much their hymns, which I considered to be fifth-rate poems set to sixth-rate music. But as I went on I saw the great merit of it. I came up against different people of quite different outlooks and different education, and then gradually realized my conceit just began peeling off. I realized that the hymns (which were just sixth-rate music) were, nevertheless, being sung with devotion and benefit by an old saint in elastic-side boots in the opposite pew, and then you realize that you aren’t fit to clean those boots. It gets you out of your solitary conceit.

My how I have often found myself in a similar position – analyzing church music/worship as to whether it contains clever wording and great music and missing the whole point.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I like Old hymns better than some of Bob Kauflin’s revisions. Diversity at times can show you that it isn’t all about entertainment.

I have have a nostalgia for Old hymns, especially by Watts. I don’t mind the organ all that much. I only get mad if they change works and I can’t say something like “To the fountain -foul- I fly. Wash me savior or I die”
Then i get critical, over something that is a stylist change from the orginal.

Comment by Dave M.




Leave a Reply

