Manspeak


To My Dad, Larry Evans by Travis Evans
June 14, 2007, 12:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

By: Travis Evans

I want to use today’s post to honor one of the manliest men that I know, my dad. Unfortunately, he is in no way the technological sort, so he will not be reading this.

My dad is the hardest working man that I know; he could easily outwork 5 men. When he was in college, he worked and went to class literally all day (minus 3 hours or so of sleep and a 45 minute drive to school). Over the years, he has worked at several hard and odd-houred jobs, like a saw mill. Even now, he works 2 jobs in order to provide for his children. He built the house that I grew up in, and it’s no small house. The house that he lives in now has had countless hours of work put in to it. My dad is constantly building something and/or fixing something. I really believe there is no job that my dad could not do. With all of this, he has instilled a great work ethic in me and has been an example to destroy laziness.

My dad is a simple man and a humble man. There’s nothing flashy about him. He’s clothes are simple and functional. His Jeep is old, but he makes it run and keeps it in good shape. He lives to give more to his children than to himself.

My dad is a lot of fun to be with. He has a great sense of humor. He will make you laugh. He is also very strange. Unfortunately, I can’t really expound on this. You just have to know him. (Ask Jeremy Bryant)

My dad is faithful and responsible. He is a man of his word. He lives and works with honesty and integrity. I love my dad so very much. I thank God for sovereignly placing him as my dad. Oh, the stories and memories that I have and cherish! Happy Father’s Day, Dad!



*These days my dad doesn’t wear glasses or have a beard. He does have an earring though (told ya…straaange).

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice post, Travis.

I love to see honored what the world overlooks.
And now I know why you’ve grown that beard.

Comment by casey

You should print it out and send it to him for Father’s Day since he’s not up on technology. Maybe let him know about the website and that you publicly wanted to honor him for all of the ways he’s served you in secret! Thanks for sharing about your father- what a blessing!

Comment by Trill




Leave a Reply

