Manspeak


by tmaples
January 30, 2008, 9:52 pm
Filed under: Culture, Masculinity, Roles and Relationships

by Travis Maples 

A friend of my wife and I, Trillia Newbell, over at Trill Fitness pointed me to a recent post at the Gender Blog entitled True Male Friendship.  Here’s an excerpt:

“Society sees true male Christian friendship as something foreign. Camaraderie between male friends has been looked upon with suspicion of homosexuality. My brothers, this is a travesty of our time! What happened to male friends who sat and discussed great books until the early hours of morning? What happened to male friends enjoying Godly conversation over a cup of good coffee? What happened to male friends, together, making a difference in the course of history?” 

I think I can agree with my high school government teacher Mr. Shoemaker.  At the time I never really understood what he meant when he said he didn’t have many friends, just a bunch of acquaintences.  It was especially odd since I was in hot pursuit of popularity and thought I had an abundance of friends.  I almost felt sorry for the guy and thought he was being too hard on himself when he would tell us he didn’t have but one or two friends.  “A friend is someone you would die for…” he would say, “you punks don’t have any friends…”  As I look back I think there was an element of truth and wisdom in his words.  True male friendships are a gift.  Though, thanks to movies like Brokeback Mountain, they are becoming increasingly taboo. 

I think Dustin Benge does a good job of reiterating the importance of male friendship in part one and two of his series. 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“Society sees true male Christian friendship as something foreign. Camaraderie between male friends has been looked upon with suspicion of homosexuality.”

You know, there was a time with my friend that I began to suspect if this “closeness” I had with him were the beginnings of homosexuality or not. Then I realized that what I was experiencing was the same type of thing that Jonathan and David had. You can’t get any closer in friendship than those two.

It is sad that today that “philo” love has been lost in this nation.

Comment by Dan




Leave a Reply

