Manspeak


Thank God For the Church by tmaples
February 4, 2008, 10:43 pm
Filed under: Featured Resource

by Travis Maples 

I categorized this post under “Featured Resource”.  At first I wasn’t sure how to list it but the more I thought about it, I realized it fits well.  Though it’s not something you can go pick up and read, it’s something you experience.   It’s something you’re apart of–it’s the local church.  It’s a pillar of truth as well as a resource of care and compassion.  A resource that God uses to care for his people and advance his kingdom in this world.  I am attaching an email my care group leader sent out to the rest of my small group in response to some difficulty my wife has been experiencing with her pregnancy.  She has had to be on bed rest the past few days and has to continue for the next two weeks until her next appointment.   This was an email intended for my caregroup, he had no clue I was going to post it.  I just want to point to the wisdom and goodness of God in the fellowship and community of believers.

All,

Most of you probably know this by now, but I want to make sure
everybody knows: Amy has been in the hospital this past week for
contractions and is now on bedrest until her next appointment, which
is two weeks away.  Her doctor will then determine whether she needs
to be on bedrest for the rest of her pregnancy.  Let’s be in prayer
for Amy, the baby, Travis, and Sadie.  Let’s also put ourselves at
their disposal and look for ways to serve them.  Like it says in
Philippians 2:4, “Let each of you look not only to his own interests,
but also to the interests of others.”  We’re their care group.  Let’s
take care of them.

Much Love and Respect,
Matt

So Matt and his wife Christy organized meals and put together a schedule of times for people to come over and babysit Sadie so Amy could rest during the day.  I mean it’s Acts 2 up in here.  Acts 2:42-47 is a great little picture of what early fellowship looked like among believers.  Flash forward 2000 years and it’s still going on in the local church.  I can’t help but think this is the way it’s supposed to look when all the pistons are pounding.  Folks are laying their lives down for Amy and I.  You’re left with this awestruck feeling like “wow this church thing works”.  It’s beautiful really, when you step back and look at it.  Christ laid down his life for us and now we in turn by his grace lay our lives down for each other that the world might know him.    

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

What amazing grace and kindness of God to bring and build relationships like that to care for one another’s souls. I have seen that grace in my caregroup as well; grace working to give people the desire to lay down their lives and serve through providing meals, babysitting, and prayer. I am overwhelmed by the gift of the church and overwhelmed that I am a part of it. May the Lord receive the glory here because no single person would want to serve like that apart from His transforming work and power. Praise the Lord! May we all have hearts of servants because even the Son of God did not come to be served, but to serve!

Comment by Varnell




Leave a Reply

