Manspeak


Fathers, lead your boys… by bigplew
March 6, 2008, 10:23 am
Filed under: Leadership, Masculinity, Roles and Relationships

by Bill Kittrell, guest blogger

picture-001.jpg

These are my boys. They are now 22, 20 and 12.

This picture was taken in 2006 while we are in the Badlands of South Dakota on a vacation out West. We took advantage of the rattlesnake sign to…look masculine, I guess.

I love my boys. Aside from Jesus Christ, my Savior, and sweet Cheri, my wife, there is no one I love more than these guys and their sister, Lauren. They are my best friends. I spend more time with them than anyone else and I would have it no other way. They are a gift from God to me.

We do a lot together. We love fishing together the most…fly fishing, I mean (and if you knew us you would know that it would tempt us to think less of you if you thought otherwise.) We also love hunting, basketball, golf, hiking, etc., etc., etc.

I can’t believe that my boys love all the things I love. What a gift from God for our relationships that we enjoy doing the same things! What if all they like to do was play video games (which I loathe)?! I’m so glad that over the years we have learned to love doing these activities together!

But how sad it would be if they didn’t learn to love Christ too. Tears come to my eyes even as I consider it. Over the years, by the grace of God, Cheri and I have focused on this over all other concerns. We are so grateful that we can say we are observing much evidence of grace in each of their lives.

One man wrote, “Boys thrive under authority and are not threatened by it.” This has been my experience. As their Dad, I have sought to exercise my God –given authority in the home to lead them and today (with exceptions!) they often thank me. I think boys are wired to follow their Dads.

Fathers, lead your children. Fathers, lead your boys. They love it and God will use this in their lives for His glory.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This excites me for Mike, Zeke, and Knox. Thank you for your invaluable example…please keep hitting on those same nails. E Plew

Comment by bigplew




Leave a Reply

