Manspeak


Little Books – Big Impact by Travis Evans
April 3, 2008, 3:22 pm
Filed under: Books

By: T.A. Evans (It fits the trend…you’ll see)

The best books are all old.
C.J. Mahaney

I would add that probably the most influential books are small ones. Here are some that I have read and have greatly influenced me.

Worship: Its Priority, Principles, and Practice – J.C. Ryle

This is my favorite book by Mr. Ryle thus far, and the best book on worship. Read it. Enjoy it. Apply it. I cannot say enough about it. READ IT!!

A Call To Prayer – J.C. Ryle

Let me sum this book up for you: Do you pray?

Here’s a quote that reveals Mr. Ryle’s heart: “There is a way by which any man, however sinful and unworthy, may draw near to God the Father. Jesus Christ has opened that way by the sacrifice he made for us upon the cross. The holiness and justice of God need not frighten sinners and keep them back. Only let them cry to God in the name of Jesus, only let them plead the atoning blood of Jesus, and they shall find God upon a throne of grace, willing and ready to hear. The name of Jesus is a never-failing passport for our prayers. In that name a man may draw near to God with boldness, and ask with confidence. God has engaged to hear him. Think of this. Is not this encouragement?”

The Knowledge of the Holy – A.W. Tozer

I am currently on my third (maybe fourth) time through this book. I try to read a chapter each night. The chapters are short but by no means light. Let’s fill our thoughts with thoughts of the Holy. This book helps us do that.

Humility: True Greatness – C.J. Mahaney

This is the biggest of these small books, at a whopping 164 pages. Read this book every 3 months. Do it! This book exposes our pride which, as men, we have a lot of.

The Cross-Centered Life – C.J. Mahaney

This is a must for every Christian, especially new/young Christians. We must rightly understand justification and sanctification. This book shaped my passion for the Gospel. A personal favorite.

Five Things Every Christian Needs to Grow – R.C. Sproul
grow.jpg

I’m currently reading this book during my devotions. It’s a great book. It covers Bible study, prayer, worship, service, and stewardship. The chapter on service paints a great picture for Christians and has influenced my attitudes concerning it.

What little books have had a big impact on you? Which are your favorites? Ask me if you want to borrow one of these.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have a couple small books by Andrew Murray. They are Absolute surrender, Believing in Prayer, Abiding in Christ, and The Indwelling Spirit. These books have revealed the Gospel to me, shown me to have a desire for the Holy Spirit, and have taught me to cling to the cross of Christ for everything! Great Books! You can borrow any!

Comment by chappy

“In the Shadow of the Cross” – Walter Chantry

“Knowledge of the Holy” – AW Tozer

“Screwtape Letters” – CS Lewis

“The Great Divorce” – CS Lewis

“The Cross He Bore” – Frederick S Leahy

“Living the Cross Centered Life” – CJ Mahaney

“Not Even a Hint” – Joshua Harris

“Thoughts for Young Men” – JC Ryle

Comment by Jonathan Kelfer

One more:

“The Life of God in the Soul of Man” – Henry Scougal

Comment by Jonathan Kelfer

I forgot to add “Fifty Reasons Christ Came to Die” by John Piper. Taking Jerry Bridge’s advice, I read a chapter from this book before each devotional time so as to draw my mind towards the Gospel. I echo his advice, do the same!

Comment by Squatty




Leave a Reply

