Manspeak


Summer Reading, part 1 by bigplew
April 25, 2008, 10:32 am
Filed under: Books, Featured Resource, Leadership

by Mike Plewniak

Last night at VFC, I had the privilege to finish up our “From Blah, Blah, Blah to La, La, La” series by talking about guarding our summers. My main two things to guard were 1) time with God and 2) our friendships. In following up my encouragement to read good books, I thought I would give some recommendations of my favorite books, and I’d love to hear some of yours (I’m always looking for good books).

With that said, I wanted to start by recommending some fun books. I try to read a couple of different books at a time to keep my appetite for reading strong. Boring books don’t encourage me to read. Usually, if I keep a fun book (like the following) going, I read more across the board. So, here are a few fun books for the summer:

Endurance: Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage by Alfred Lansing

From start to finish, this book had me. I stayed up until 1 a.m. reading the conclusion. And after I read it, I had to wake-up my wife to read it to her. A great true story of perseverance, leadership, and exploration. A manspeak must read!

John Adams by David McCullough

The book that started the movement for Adams to get a major memorial in DC. An incredible man in the history of the USA, and someone who you will love learning about. Again, the ending is wonderful and true. His relationship (and differences) with Thomas Jefferson kept me reading other books about the two of them. HBO just did a series based on this book that is coming to DVD on June 10th. Your goal: read the book before you watch the series.

Spurgeon: A New Biography by Arnold Dallimore

My historical hero. This is the first biography that I read on Spurgeon. From this, I started reading his books, sermons, sermon notes, autobiography, etc…. I love CJ’s encouragement to find great Christian men of history and to master their works. After 8 years of reading spurgeon, I’ve realized that I cannot master him or read all of his works. But what a great man to learn from and this is a great introduction to him.

April 1865 by Jan Winik

Subtitle: The Month that Saved America. Another book that shows how the decisions of leaders have massive implications. Lincoln and Lee are both highlighted as men who had to make decisions that would be highly unpopular, but ultimately necessary for the good of others. This book keeps you moving too. It’s hard to stop one chapter without starting the next.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Reading great books is an inspiration to me as well, especially in encouraging us men to read. I’ll add a couple more for men over at http://www.ICommendJoy.com.

Comment by Craig Johnson

[…] Reading for Men Manspeak encourages men in reading by suggesting four books as potential reads this summer. Let me suggest […]

Pingback by Summer Reading for Men « I Commend Joy!

probably my favorite book is CJ Mahaney’s Living the Cross Centered life. A great book for me on biblical manhood and womanhood was John Piper and Wayne Grudems 50 crucial questions.

Comment by kennethclayton




Leave a Reply

