Manspeak


what’s my calling? by bigplew
May 2, 2008, 6:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

by Mike Plewniak

For the guys who regularly read this blog (shout-out to both of you), I frequently get asked questions about calling. What should I do with my life? What career should I choose? Can I be a pastor and read theology books and my bible all day (which isn’t what we do, though that would be nice)? What does the bible say about work?

To be honest, i’ve never been excited about my answer I give to guys. I fumble my way through some scriptures, give them some big principles, and then pray that God teaches them from his Word.

So, you can imagine my excitement when I stumbled upon these two articles by Justin Taylor.

Thank God For Work, Pt 1

Thank God for Work, Pt 2

In Part 1 Taylor writes: “We need to recover the reformational understanding of vocation: all of life—in every sphere and in every calling—should be lived to the glory of God and in obedience to his Word. Abraham Kuyper wrote, “there is not a square inch in the whole domain of our human existence over which Christ, who is Sovereign over all, does not cry, ‘Mine!’” If that’s true (and it is!), isn’t it worth our time and effort to think through how to glorify God in the area of work to which he has called you?”

In Part 2 he has a whole section on “how to determine your calling”, which is the part that you might benefit from the most. He has very helpful questions and points to think through.

He finishes wisely with this clarification:

“Your “vocation” (or calling) is not necessarily for life. As we get older we sometimes add and sometimes change vocations. The most important thing to remember is that no matter your age, and no matter your vocation, the biblical command remains the same: ‘Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ’.” (Col. 3:23–24) “

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mike,

Have you seen Monergism’s links regarding work and vocation? And I read Taylor’s articles a couple of months ago. Good stuff!

Comment by DJ Cimino

BTW, we should draw up some TGIM bumper stickers! 😉

Comment by DJ Cimino




Leave a Reply

