Manspeak


LOOKED UPON by walterp
May 21, 2008, 8:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

By Walt Alexander

Well, today I wanted to recommend a new worship CD for you guys. It is the Na Band’s first CD entitled Looked Upon. Listen to a sample or purchase it. It’s only $10 here. The Na Band, led by Devon Kauflin – one of Bob Kauflin’s sons, leads worship at New Attitude. During the year, they regularly lead worship at Covenant Life Church.

The title rings through as you listen to each song – with each song uniquely telling of how we, as Christians, were looked upon in our sinful state and rescued through the glorious gospel of Jesus Christ. To listen to this CD is to survey the wondrous cross again! The CD contains 11 tracks, written predominantly by Devon Kauflin but including several songs written by Jordan Kauflin, a song by Joel Sczebel, and a song written by Devon & Bob Kauflin. All of the songs are great, but here are my current favorites!

What a Savior is the seventh track. It concentrates on the suffering of Jesus Christ and his substitutionary death on the cross. The verses are from the classic hymn by Philip Bliss (1875). However, Deven rewrites the music and adds a great chorus. Our church has done this song for over a year and it has served us very well to more clearly see and sing the suffering and death of Christ.

My Lord, I Did Not Choose You is the eighth track. It expounds the glorious truth of election in Christ. The verses are taken from the classic hymn by Josiah Conder (1836). However, Devon again rewrites the music and adds a great chorus. The chorus goes like this:

Jesus, You have saved me
And taken all my sin, all my sins away
Jesus, You have called me
Before the world began, to glorify Your name
I was without hope and dead inside
But You chose to save my life

Songs about election are rare and hardly ever able to be sung passionately! The combination of lyrics and music make this song unique.

Finally, All I Have Is Christ closes the album. It is a beautiful song written by Jordon Kauflin that takes us through our sinful state, God’s gracious invitation, our salvation, and leaves us laying down our lives in song for what he has done. Let me share several lines that have encouraged me!

Verse 2 begins…

But as I ran my hell-bound race
Indifferent to the cost

You looked upon my helpless state
And led me to the cross
And I beheld God’s love displayed
You suffered in my place
You bore the wrath reserved for me
Now all I know is grace

The chorus rings out…

Hallelu – jah! All I have is Christ
Hallelu – jah! Jesus is my life

Verse 3 ends with this compelling prayer…

Oh Father, use my ransomed life
In any way You choose
And let my song forever be
My only boast is You

So, take some of your summer money to buy this CD and let us celebrate that God has indeed looked upon our estate!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

