Manspeak


Apply Na by walterp
May 28, 2008, 2:32 pm
Filed under: Devotions, Leadership

By Walt Alexander

I hope all of you are rested from New Attitude.  It was a joy to spend four days with over 3,000 people listening to the preached Word, exulting in the Savior in corporate worship, and spending every waking hour conversing about the Savior.   But it is over.  Bob Kauflin was not on the keyboard when I awoke this morning.  And C.J. Mahaney was not gearing up to preach.  Now, I (read we) have the responsibility of applying these truths.

James 1:22-25 commands us, But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.”

Conferences come and go and leave us unchanged.  Truths applied transform our lives.  Now we must do the diligent, unseen work of application.  Counselor David Powlison, in his article “Think Globally and Act Locally,” has taught us to take one bit of Scripture (or truth) and apply it to one bit of life.  So, don’t think globally about your life without acting locally.  Take one bit of truth and apply it to one bit of life.

To do this, we must make a plan.  We will not stumble into application.  We must take proper action.  Here are 3 things to remember as you make your battle plan (from my Community Group Leader Grant Layman):

Be simple. All to often, I will come home from a conference and try to change every affected area of my life.  I will then fail and abandon application altogether.  So, it is important for us to remember to pick one area and to be simple.  If you want to start memorizing Scripture, don’t start with Psalm 46.  Start with one verse.

Be specific. This is also an area I tend to fail.  I all to often talk generalities when I talk about application.  My life inevitably remains unchanged.  So, it is important for us to remember to be specific.  Make a clear, specific battle plan.

Share your plan. Application is often incomplete without involving others.  So take your plan to a friend or two and have them keep you accountable for the plan.

So, what are you planning to apply from Na?  How do you want to change?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I didn’t get to go to Na, but I listened to the messages and I found them encouraging, especially John Piper’s message on William Tyndale. I loved how he charged us to translate the Bible into new languages, and I would like to translate the Gospel into the language of my life. I want to come with 150 ways to love those who hate me, to reach out to those who hate the Gospel as I once did. I could say more, but I’ll stop rambling.

http://www.boundtochrist.com

Comment by David Wells

Hey Walt, thanks for the post. One thing I want to apply is the memorization of Scripture, particularly God’s promises. C.J Mahaney mentioned Spurgeon’s Faith’s Checkbook. I know you can get it at bookstores for only couple dollars, but for those who are short on cash, just google search “faith’s checkbook” and you can find the same material online for free.

Comment by Nathan Simmons

Nathan, I agree. I want to memorize Scripture like John Piper. He really opened my eyes to see how powerful Scripture memory can be in stabbing sinful temptations with truth!

Comment by Walt




Leave a Reply

