Manspeak


GOSPEL FILLER PT. 2 by walterp
June 18, 2008, 8:00 am
Filed under: Devotions, Leadership

By Walt Alexander

Last week, I wrote that the gospel – the good news of forgiveness in Chirst – can become filler or rote. It can become meaningless and fail to produce the appropriate joy and hope and peace. To avoid this daily temptation, I wanted to offer some practical suggestions. I am no expert at this (so don’t expect anything novel) and this list is not exhaustive (so please offer us any insights you have).

1. Preach the gospel to yourself daily. There is simply no way to live in the good of the gospel (in the awareness that sin is forgiven and that guilt has been removed) without daily preaching the gospel to yourself. If the gospel is the most important message in all of history (which it is), then it is the only message your soul needs to hear every day.

2. Preach the gospel to yourself creatively. Don’t feel bound to preach the whole gospel (God – man – sin – Christ) in rote fashion to yourself. Preach it creatively. Address your soul specifically.

3. Preach the gospel to yourself through gospel truths. Try it for yourself. Pick one of these glorious truths – ransom, reconciliation, justification, union with Christ, adoption, etc. For example, some mornings when I am currently experiencing the faceplant of habitual, recurring sin, I will meditate on the precious reality that Christ has forever ransomed me from sin’s power and dominion. I am his child and sin has eternal threat to my soul. This frees me to experience the freedom from sin that the gospel promises!

4. Preach the gospel to yourself through the cries of Calvary. To be convinced of God’s love, Charles Spurgeon once wisely encouraged us to dwell where the cries of Calvary can be heard. They are: “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do,” “I tell you the truth this day you will be with me in Paradise,” “Dear woman, here is your son,” “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me,” “I am thirsty,” “It is finished,” and “Father into your hands I commit my spirit.” Take these cries and dwell with them. Meditate on them and know the effects of the cross.

5. Listen to worship songs that explore the glories of Calvary. Again, use discernment here. Many worship songs are written today that do not truly explore the glories of Calvary. Search for songs packed with truth about the cross.

6. During corporate worship, engage with the truths of the songs and apply them to your heart. Corporate worship is not to be relaxing. It is to be engaging and we are to be actively calling our hearts to worship God.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Meditate on the verses that The Gospel Primer references at the bottom of the pages.

Say the MEANING of words like Justified or Redeemed instead of just the words themselves, to really get our hearts and minds up in all that juicy Gospel bizness!

Comment by joshcan

The thought of seeking practice a correct view of quiet times in light of the Christian life goes a long way in my life in helping the Gospel not be cast aside.

Comment by Jonathan Kelfer




Leave a Reply

