Manspeak


A “Pet Peeve” by joshcan
January 27, 2009, 12:12 pm
Filed under: Humor

So I’ve got this “pet peeve,” so to speak. And hopefully you can relate. When dog owners give their pets people names. When I’m in the mall or some place comparable, and I see an older lady or some high school aged female, and they’ve got a dog that’s too small to sustain itself in the wild and they call it “Jessica” I just can’t help but feel like something is terribly wrong. Animals should be named things like Tiger, or Spock, or Lucky, or Pit-of-Vipers, etc. NOT names like Jonathan, Phillip or Elizabeth.

Some, however are okay. Ralph, Jack, Bob. I can handle those. But please don’t name your dachsund Jeremy or your Shitzu Amanda.

It’s just wrong.

Any other examples?

–by joshcan

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think titles work well. King, Duke, etc.

Plus, I think you get a freedom to add a human name as long as you have a cool title with it: King Reginald III, especially if it’s a big dog. Who’s gonna make fun of you or your dog if it’s a 150 lb rottweiler that knows one command “Sick!”?

Comment by Travis Evans

I agree. There are too many dogs called Ben.

Comment by Ben Stevenson

It okay sometime- my name is Sandy and it fits. I’m on the friendly side and Xena wouldn’t work. Visit me at http://www.SandySays1.wordpress.com I’m lobbying to replace the hand shake with the butt sniff for the universal greeting. See my latest post.

Comment by sandysays1

I had a woman tell me the only reason she remembered my name was because she had a dog with the same name.

Comment by Franklin

I agree with you Josh. Also, some dogs are so small, so yappy, so dressed up, so primped, and so genetically engineered to be “cute” that the most appropriate end for them is to be “disassembled” in some type of mechanical device. I know I’ll get some flack for that, but that’s how I and most men feel.

Comment by Kevin Shipp

I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
Cheers, Sheila

Comment by cartoonsbysheila




Leave a Reply

