Manspeak


FINISHING WELL by Caleb H.
March 23, 2009, 5:32 am
Filed under: Devotions

manspeakdevo

by Caleb Hancock

I recently had the pleasure to eat dinner with a man who has been in Christian ministry for over 50 years. While it was an honor and privilege to hear this man’s experiences and to hear his views on important theological and ecclesiological concepts, it was more encouraging to simply view this man’s love for God’s word. How he was daily benefitting from spending time reading the Scriptures and preaching the gospel to himelf. This reminded me that, as a young man, the battle will rage and continue to be important until my dying day to remember what is of first importance. It’s not what impact I can make on my church or family, it’s not how badly I have screwed up and trying to minimize it, it’s not the daily tasks and roles that I fill. Rather, the most important daily task that I can and should contemplate and remind myself of is the good news of God’s grace shown to ill-deserving sinners like myself through the cross of God’s son, Jesus. Because He lived without  sin as my representative, because He hung on a cross experiencing the full weight of God’s holy wrath against sin, and because God graciously opened my eyes to see and believe these truths, I am forgiven of all my sin and credited with Christ’s perfect record! This is the gospel! And there is no more important truth to apply to one’s own soul than this. It brings peace, joy, humility, true-wisdom, and unsearchable other benefits as well! I now have peace with God, not based on my performance!

Seeing this older man’s love for these truths, and the life of faithful service, motivated by God’s grace that resulted, fired me up to want to finish well. Whatever my future holds, whatever God has planned for me in the days remaining to me here on earth, I want to pursue holiness with the cross of Christ always before me.

Let me encourage and exhort you to the same mission. Let’s follow this man’s example, as the example of so many Christian leaders in years past and present, and finish our course well!

Application:

  • If you’re in school, seek to finish this semester excellently for God’s glory. Be faithful to study and diligent in your school-work that you might excel.
  • If you are an employee, seek to honor and support the leadership of your boss and to be a faithful and diligent worker, as unto the Lord.
  • If you are the head of a household, seek to serve and lead your family toward godliness, through laying your life down for them.
  • For all, serve in your local church! Serve with joy and humility the body that God has blessed you to be a part of.

In all these things, look to Christ, the author and perfecter of your faith and run with renewed strength each day.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Amen! Hebrews 12:1-2, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfector of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.” The great cloud mentioned is the list of those who lived by faith in Hebrews 11. Abraham, Sarah, Noah, Enoch, and many others are given as examples of those who lived by faith. Just as the minister inspired Caleb these Old Testament people should inspire us to live lives of faith lived to God.

Comment by JRam

Hello!
Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
See you!
Your, Raiul Baztepo

Comment by RaiulBaztepo




Leave a Reply

